Sexypink

the energy of things…including self

Posted in Opinion by Adele Todd on August 28, 2007

Having just travelled from Trinidad with the remnants of a virus that masqerades as a cold, and having to take pills the size of my palm, I have been in less than steller health these last few days. However I did manage to go out (or as the Canadians like to say, uwte) today for a bit. After all the weather is mild and really great. I wanted to buy a couple art magazines at the local mall. I ended up with Juxtapoz. I am very familiar with its online site, and it actually yielded a few very commercial graphic illustrations that are bordering on overkill right now. You may know what I am talking about. I find the work the  equivalent of grunge in the late 80’s early 1990’s. Everyone is working so similarly that what started out as eclectic and edgy has now been blunted on its edges.

Yet, there are a few people who keep the style interesting, and I love that I can immerse myself in a magazine that feels funky and focused on all that is happening in that particular place. There is an energy and a clear love for making things and having small shows and trying to make contemporary art practice meld along the lines of graphics, design, comic books, animation and fashion and really work. I know that what I am writing is old news to those who are doing it all the time in their first world spaces for years, and we in the caribbean say, wonderful, keep at it. We still have some ways to go. Alot of things are closing down and hopefully new doors are opening up in the Trini art scene. In fact as I waited for my flight I got a call from a friend who told me that he is planning to open a small gallery, so there you go. Maybe the phoenix is rising again and with brighter plumage.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Coffeewallah said, on August 28, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    Look at you already speaking the first world language. You go girl! We’re all looking forward to seeing the work that you will do now that you’re out there.


Leave a Reply

